Midnight Ramblings – What do Indie Writers Need?


I woke up early for the route and I’m just awake.  I’m actually feeling much better!  Anyhow, I have so much to do and I can’t decide which project to work on, so here I am.

I actually started to read my current novel, but the first thing I read was a flashback, then the chapter ended with “What was happening to me?” and the new chapter bounced back to current day with no transition.  This stuff never bothered me before.  I’d just happily read and enjoy a story.  I’m not sure if this is a good thing or a bad thing.  I suppose my skill level must be increasing or I wouldn’t notice, but dangit, I want so badly to enjoy this story because it’s a really cute idea. *Sigh*  I wonder how this author has so many books out with all the inconsistencies I’ve read so far in this series. I’m in the middle of book 2 of 4.  Maybe she got better with subsequent books.  Maybe she finally got an editor.

This brings me back to my new project. I’d really like to offer some services for indie writers.  Granted I’m no content editor, but I can definitely do some editing on things like lack of transitions and inconsistencies. I’ve studied enough over the past year to probably complete my MFA twice over.  At the very least, I could be proofreader/beta reader and offer a few other services. I have a domain and hosting for the website already and I’m kicking around some ideas.  I’ve even got a few sites open on how to start a non-profit organization. I’d love some feedback as to what Indie writers need.

I wish my fairy godmother would just whisper in my ear what it is she’s guiding me to do with this.  I know the gods are leading me in this direction, I just can’t seem to get a clear picture on the answer.  So I kick and scream and tell them “Hey, I’m stupid here, you have to spell it out for me!”  I’m still waiting for that, but it’s getting closer.

If I had the right connections, I’d just jump right in and become an agent because I’m passionate about helping new authors make their way, but I don’t have those connections and I wouldn’t want to lead anyone down the wrong path.  I think if my idea pans out as I hope it does, agents will be knocking at my door, hoping for crumbs.  I wish I could truly pinpoint exactly what I need…

Help Universe!  I still need direction.

 

 

PS I know this is probably scattered, but what else would midnight ramblings be?  No editing desired LOL

4 thoughts on “Midnight Ramblings – What do Indie Writers Need?

  1. Go to sleep! haha No seriously, I know you’ll be wonderful at this because you already do it for me! And I appreciate every single edit, suggestion, and encouraging word. ❤

Leave a Reply

