Non-Profit Org for Writers


I have this idea. It’s been running in my head for several weeks. The idea is for nonprofit organization for writers. It would start with a forum as a means to get to know one another and support each other. There may also be an exchange of services board for help with alpha reading, beta reading, proofreading and other such things. Another board might be for a ‘Meet the Author’ forum so fans can talk to their favorite authors.'Writing' photo (c) 2008, Tony Hall - license: http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nd/2.0/

In addition to the forums, I’d like to start with offering basic editing and formatting services for ebooks. Eventually I’d like to add content editing, book covers, and hopefully publishing services.

There would also be a Twitter feed announcing new members and announcing when members publish new materials.

In order to do this, I would need volunteers and donations. I’m not asking yet, I just want to know who would be willing. I don’t want ANY donations until this is a legal entity. I have a domain and hosting, but I need a logo designer and web designer (or an easy template).

I could do this as a regular business, but I’d much rather it be non-profit. As such, if it takes off, it could change the face of e-publishing. I’d really like comments, input, offers of potential future assistance…anything really. I need to know how to proceed here. I am just not sure where to begin with such a big idea…but the idea won’t let me go! Please help?

Leave a Reply

