In Remembrance


Just over two weeks ago, I lost my godmother.  She and my mother had been best friends, more like sisters really, for over 50 years.  I guess it sent Mom over the edge, because she died a couple of days ago.  I’m a bit lost right now and worried about my godfather because he’s lost his wife and one of his best friends in such a short time and he’s never lived alone before. 

 

My mom used to date my godfather as friends and one day they decided to do a double date and each introduce the other to someone else.  Both married the dates they had that night.  July would have been 51 years of marriage for my godparents.  My father died in 1994.  They all had such a beautiful friendship and now Uncle Don is all that is left.  I hope he’s strong enough to make it.

 

My mother had a rare and very debilitating form of arthritis, so her body has been donated to science.  Maybe someone someday will suffer less because of her.  I hope so. 

 

Blessings,

Raven

6 thoughts on “In Remembrance

  1. Raven,

    I am very sorry to hear about the loss of your mother and Godmother. Loss is terrible when offered in the standard fashion of one at a time. Double loss in so short of a time has to be just crushing. You are lost and grief will crush your heart. It has a way of lessening over time then coming back at you like a sledgehammer. Take care of yourself. Try to help your Uncle, often all that is left of us in times of deep loss in the kindness that we have for others. And that kindness and compassion will help you find your way…but it is a very slow process. You are in my thoughts and prayers.

    1. Thank you, Henry, that means a lot to me. Yes, it has been hard, especially with being so ill, but it’s getting easier day by day. I hopefully will get some results to my tests on Wednesday and some relief to my worries.

      My uncle is doing surprisingly well. He’s joined a support group and is planning on participating in future Shriner events. I’ll keep checking in on him but it seems like he’s planning to be around a while. That is the most important part! 🙂

Leave a Reply

